Australian mammals

Australia is home to a wide range of mammals, including the largest number of marsupials still in existence and primitive egg-laying mammals such as the Short-beaked Echidna. In the seas around Australia, a wide range of cetaceans can also be found.



A primitive group of mammals that lay eggs, only found in Australia and New Guinea and consisting of only three species of echidna and the Platypus. The first monotremes arose in the cretaceous era, some 130 million years ago.
Order Monotremata
Short-beaked Echidna




Another ancient line of mammals where the young are reared in a pouch. Marsupials once were found over much of the world but now exist only in Australasia, South America and North America.
Order Peramelemorphia
Long-nosed Bandicoot
Order Diprotodontia
Common Brush-tailed Possum
Common Ring-tailed Possum
Musky Rat-kangaroo
Western Grey Kangaroo
Eastern Grey Kangaroo
Red-necked Wallaby
Swamp Wallaby

Placental mammals

Placental mammals are the most advanced mammals, ranging from mice to humans and in many areas have displaced older lines such as the marsupials.
Order Chiroptera
Spectacled Flying-fox
Order Carnivora
New Zealand Fur Seal
Order Cetacea
Short-beaked Common Dolphin
Risso's Dolphin
Indo-Pacific Bottlenose Dolphin
Common Bottlenose Dolphin
Humpback Whale

P. Menkhorst and F. Knight, A Field Guide to the Mammals of Australia, 2nd edition, 2004.
Wilson and Reed's Mammal Species of the World - online database of mammals world-wide.